Health & Fitness

Goaling for Gold

Hello Gorgeous, and welcome to the obsession!!

I thought I’d kick the blogging shenanigans off on a positive note, and set some health and fitness goals. I hope this first post will be a little bit inspiring and maybe just a little bit motivating – for you and me both. As I start this new journey, I’m feeling a lot more motivated and excited to get back on track with looking after my body, and fueling it properly to meet my -often sleepy – needs. So where do you generally start when you begin a new journey? Goal setting of course.

I’ve been on a fitness/healthy eating/ clean eating/cleansing bandwagon rampage for about 2-3 years now, often falling off, and only managing a couple days before jumping – err I mean falling off again. Eating is something I often struggle with as I can go 1-2 full days without eating, or feeling hungry, and then binging on one meal before the cycle starts again. It’s time to get right!

To get fit and healthy, or continue with my bar of chocolate? – Hmm – There’s always tomorrow right?

student-goal-setting

There are various articles across google about “how to set goals” – but honestly – most of them a full of shit, and are only made for views. If you’re determined to get your shit together like I am, then you don’t need an article to tell you “how to” – you just – “will do.” My advice: Write down your goals, Set an achievement date, keep them realistic, and stay committed but keep this in mind – A great warrior once said:

A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves as something to aim at.

– Bruce Lee

I’m focusing today’s post on health and fitness goals that I want to achieve within the next 6 months – well, by the 30th November 2016 – cause we all jump off the wagon come Christmas/New Years, and there’s no trying to fool yourself into thinking you’re going to be a water drinking salad muncher when there’s cheesecake, beersies, pavlova, jelly shots, barbecues and ice-cream surrounding you all Summer long.

So here are 5 Health and Fitness goals I want to smash by the 30th November 2016:

1. Eat 3 meals consistently everyday

This is a HUGE one for me, as I previously mentioned I struggle with eating – I don’t have a eating disorder, just my [lack of] eating habits are disorderly. I saw a cute quote something like:

Eating Habits

The original quote is –

“Eat Breakfast like a King, Lunch like a Prince, and Dinner like a Pauper”

-Adelle Davis

But the Picture quote is way more relevant – wtf is a pauper anyway? So this will be my food mantra moving forward, I won’t necessarily be following a healthy/clean eating regime although eventually I would love to get into IIFYM – If It Fits Your Macros! I really just want to focus on eating consistently to ensure I have enough energy, and nutrients to keep up with the day.

2. Do 1 Hour of Physical Activity 4 out of 7 days.

I’m not a active bunny anymore, and it’s funny that I use to do cheerleading, and play indoor netball up to 6 times a week (on top of all my studying, and school) – but since my ‘ball-hit-head’ incident, I’m a bed pumpkin now, and the only exercise I’m getting at the moment, is walking to and from the kitchen and/or bathroom – though the laziness creeps in and makes sure I do this in one solid round rather than multiple trips. Ain’t nobody got time for that.. Zzz

This is a solid goal, that I know will help with my laziness, and with flipping my depression. I honestly know I can not commit to everyday, cause with my sleepiness, I know at best I’ll struggle with these 4 days, but I want to start slow and steady, slowly increase my strength, and cardio without dying out after the first 3 days, and falling deeper into my rutty hole.

3. Start Practicing Yoga Consistently

yoga

I’ve been told on multiple occasions that Yoga is one of the best exercises to do when you’re suffering with Depression, or Stress, as it’s slow, and relaxing, and really helps you focus on the present moment (of pain). I have tried yoga various times in the comfort of my bedroom, but often get distracted by social media shenanigans, and live vicariously through the likes of Hilary House, and BananaBlondie instead – Gah one day I tell ya. This one does go hand in hand with the previous goal of exercising 4 out of 7 days, but the mindfulness of Yoga should help relieve any anxieties that may creep in. In my previous experience, I really do enjoy doing yoga, I hope to try a class soon, or even Bikram Yoga.

4. Choose Water

Gah – this one I don’t want to do – at all. I hate water with a passion, but I know its health benefits, and the necessity of this boring beverage. I’m an avid tea drinker, herbal tea, black tea, and especially milk tea being my favourite, and I know these ‘count’ toward your 8 glass a day total, but choosing fresh, straight up [boring] water is much better for digestive/colon health, and beautifying our skin, hair and strengthening our nails. My daily goal is at least 3 Liters of boring water a day – I’m a tall person, I need a little more than the average 5ft 3inch female.

5. Meditate Daily

I recently read a post on High Existence (one of my favourite websites ever) on 26 scientifically proven superhuman benefits of meditating. Achieving stillness in such a crazy, digital age is very hard to fathom, but to meditate daily, and achieve this stillness would really help my mental health, and clarity. Being stuck in a rut sometimes everything is so cloudy, confusing and gloomy that no matter what decisions you try to make, there’s always hesitation. I feel mediation will help ease a lot of my anxiety, and help me to make more concise and clear decisions about my pathway forward. My mental health is very important at this stage, and if something as simple as mediating can bring me calmness then yes, it’s a goal to meditate daily.

o-MEDITATE-570

Bonus Goal:  Wake up Early with a consistent morning routine

I’ve read a lot around the world wide web of people doing morning pages – a concept created by Julia Cameron – she’s sums it up best here:

Morning Pages are three pages of longhand, stream of consciousness writing, done first thing in the morning. *There is no wrong way to do Morning Pages*– they are not high art. They are not even “writing.” They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind– and they are for your eyes only. Morning Pages provoke, clarify, comfort, cajole, prioritize and synchronize the day at hand. Do not over-think Morning Pages: just put three pages of anything on the page…and then do three more pages tomorrow. – Source

c79fe65fbfb4b66d95a6a76c35a7cf97

I am absolutely NOT a morning person, and if looks could kill, it would definitely be best to not come near me before 11am. I’m hardly ever awake before 11 am at the moment, and I know this is hindering my mental health, making me feel less productive, and more depressed. So I  would like to start a new morning routine which consists of waking up bright and early, and completing morning pages, to clear my mind, and release any stagnant, irrelevant thoughts to ensure I can start the day off on a positive foot – there’s only 1 way off my bed, so I will try make it a positive side to wake up on.

These are the goals that I am going to commit to for the next 6 months. You may feel that these goals are “weak” or “easy way out” – but there is realism to these goals, I know I will find them very challenging at first, and getting started for me is the hardest part. Consistency is key here, and focusing on what you have done, as opposed to what you haven’t, will keep you motivated. Joel Osteen sums this up beautifully:

[there’s a reason] .. you’ve got a big windshield on the front of your car. And you’ve got a little bitty rear view mirror. And the reason the windshield is so large and the rear view mirror is so small is because what’s happened in your past is not near as important as what’s in your future.” – Source

Health and fitness is such a hard and painful route that requires a lot of hard work, dedication, and planning.  I’m going to take things slow, and really monitor my progress. I will review my progress often, and if I feel like the goal has been surpassed, then I will make adequate changes to ensure I’m moving forward along the yellow brick road, instead of running around in circles, or backtracking. I don’t want to lose focus or be too hard on myself for little things and feeling defeated because maybe I only exercised for 45 minutes 2 days of the week instead of 4 day, or making myself nauseous because my body isn’t able to tolerate eating 3 meals every day. As long as I’m committed, aware and have attempted to hit my targets, I will listen to my body carefully, to ensure I don’t burn out, and give up all together – which is very common.

0679ca728e356f442d9084b9711860c0

Maintaining, and tracking your progress is a great way to see how things are going and if adjustments need to be made accordingly.  I will be using MyFitnessPal – Username Keirrynxo – follow me – to track basically all of my goals. Thanks to it’s super useful logging system, I can log my food, water and activity levels, plus log notes of meditation and yoga done. (Not sponsored – only app I know of that can do all of this) 

If you have some current goals, please let me know which goal you are most excited to achieve in the comments section below – I would love to know!

Thanks for checking in today, I really appreciate your time, and if you haven’t already subscribe to my newsletter – it’s totally free, and I’ll keep you up to date with the latest posts directly to your email. 🙂

Hope you have a wicked awesome day, and smash some of your own personal goals! #getit

Until Next Time..

xo

Keirryn ♥

 

Disclaimer: These are my own personal goals, I am not a health professional, a fitness professional, or qualified in any of these areas – These are goals that I feel are suited to me. All Opinions are my own, so please keep this in mind before shoving wikipedia facts at me. All pictures sourced via Google Images – Header Source No copyright infringement intended.
6 thoughts on “Goaling for Gold

    1. Overcoming the expectations is probably the hardest – Letting go completely of what people think will be truly freeing, and the confidence you’ll gain will be soo rewarding. Wishing you all the best for your journey as well – Be a badass, have a good ass. hahaa. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

